Guadalajara

I went to Guadalajara a 5 hour bus ride away to teach a 2.5 hour workshop and then give some feedback to the candidates going up for their assessment.  I was hosted by an incredibly generous couple who run the studio.  These were new students to me, new place, the directors of the studio are well-respected Iyengar teachers. I wanted to teach well, I wanted to help them towards their certification and I wanted to create a connection. Here in San Miguel…well let’s just say Guadalajara is a big city  with the energy of a big city. There were 12 engaged, interested, intelligent students all committed to studying yoga. I haven’t taught that many students since I’ve moved here. And the commitment is something rare in a retirement/tourist town. This is why connecting to the cities is essential for my intellectual stimulation.

