BKS Iyengar- A light burns onward.

I just found out on the bus ride to SAn Miguel that Guruji had left his body. I knew he had gone into the hospital. Each day, I would look to see if he was in his chair at the entrance to his home or would grace us with his presence just one more time in the practice hall. He looked frail but still that fire going strongly. I could see him busy with work, consulting with his granddaughter most likely on the goings on of the Institute or reclining in a chair while listening to his walkman. What was he listening to, I wondered.

As I drove home, It became clear to me how fortunate i was to have the little direct interaction with him that I did. He was a force of nature and his work continues on through our work, our study our teaching.

Many beautiful quotes have been posted on Facebook to remind us

“Change is not something that we should fear. Rather, it is something that we should welcome. For without change, nothing in this world would ever grow or blossom, and no one in this world would ever move forward to become the person they’re meant to be.” – BKS Iyengar

from his daughter, Geetaji

“Only his body has ended. One person’s efforts from inside out, changed the acceptance of yoga throughout the world. Nothing was hidden, from the time he began to practice, to his illness and death. Even last night he was telling Abhijata, “I have shown you all these things, now realize them for yourself.” What he has given cannot be encompassed by words. If a disciple is more developed, then that person will understand. What can be said in words, is that he was precious to us.”

